Google fb32x32 twitter linkedin feed-icon-32x32

Vote For Inspiring NRI Leaders And Visionaries

Vote For Inspiring NRI Leaders And Visionaries

April 12, 2011

The Light of India Awards: Here's your chance to vote for NRIs who you think have excelled in their fields and made Indians proud. 

A Times Group service, Remit2India, celebrates half a million customers and ten years in the business in 2011. To mark this milestone, The Times Group is organizing the first-ever The Light of India Awards ceremony at New York City’s iconic Waldorf Astoria Hotel on April 22, 2011, to recognize exemplary achievement by the non-resident Indians in the fields of business leadership, corporate leadership, political leadership, science and technology, journalism and literature, and arts and entertainment.

“NRIs have always been one of the reasons for which India has been shining,” says Avijit Nanda, President of TimesofMoney. “Having catered to this community with our Remit2India service, it is only logical for us to create a platform to recognize these shining lights. What is even more unique is that for the first time this community is being recognized by a combination of a distinguished Jury and, most importantly, by the very members of this community – the NRIs.

“We are extremely delighted to be a part of this commendable endeavour” says Anil Kumar Sharma, Chairman and Managing Director Amrapali Group. “It’s great to see Indians succeeding across the globe and getting recognized through this initiative. It also fits in perfectly with our philosophy of ‘Developing India,’ as NRIs are key contributors to our nation’s success & development.”

Based on a unique rating system, an esteemed panel of jury members will select ONE nominee who becomes the proud recipient of “Jury Award.” All the nominees below will be listed on the event’s web site, where Indians from all over the world will have an opportunity to vote (until April 15) for their favorite nominee in each category. The nominee with the highest number of votes will be the recipient of “The People’s Choice Award” (technically, there could be two different people awarded in each category, given this system).

The nominees are:

Recognition in Corporate Leadership

  • Ajay Banga: President & Chief Operating Officer – MasterCard
  • Arun Sarin: Senior Advisor – KKR
  • Dinesh Keskar: Vice President Boeing International Trading
  • Francisco D'Souza: Chief Executive Officer - Cognizant technologies
  • Vikram Pandit: Chief Executive Officer - Citigroup

Recognition in Business Leadership

  • Vinod Khosla: Chief Executive Officer - Khosla Ventures
  • Naveen Jain: Founder - InfoSpace and Intelius
  • Mukesh Majmudar: President & Chief Executive Officer - Star Hotels
  • Promod Sharma: President & Chief Executive Officer - Criterion Systems

Recognition in Political Leadership

  • Bobby Jindal: Governor of Lousiana
  • Swati Dandekar: IOWA State Senator
  • Dr. Ruby Dhalla: Member of Canadian House of Commons
  • Ameya Pawar: Alderman – Chicago City

Recognition in Science & Technology

  • Vivek Kundra: Federal Chief Information Officer
  • Vinod Dham: Chief Executive Officer - Silicon Spice Inc.
  • Narasimha Chari: Chief Technology Officer, Founder and Chief Architect – Tropos Networks
  • Shiladitya Sengupta: PhD. Assistant Professor

Recognition in Journalism & Literature

  • Jhumpa Lahiri: Writer & Novelist
  • Vikram Seth: Poet, Novelist, Travel Writer, Children's writer, Biographer & Memoirist
  • Salman Rushdie: Writer & Novelist
  • M G Vassanji: Canadian Novelist & Editor
  • Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni: Writer & Novelist

Recognition in Arts & Entertainment

  • Sunil Nayar: TV Writer & Producer, a Producer of CSI: Miami
  • Mira Nair: Film Director & Producer
  • Russell Peters: Stand-up Comedian
  • Meera Syal: Comedienne, Singer, Producer & Actress
  • Sanjeev Bhaskar: Comedian, Actor & Broadcaster

Jury members include:

Javed Akhtar: Hindi/Urdu Poet and Lyricist and Screenwriter
Shabana Azmi: Indian actress and Social Activist
Pranay Gupte: International Journalist and Author
Prasoon Joshi: Executive Chairman McCann World Group India
Sulajja Firodia Motwani: Managing Director Kinetic Motors India
Priya Paul: Chairperson Apeejay The Park Hotels
Mahesh Dattani: Indian Director, Playwright & Actor
Madhu Trehan: Veteran journalist
Shiv Khera - Author, Educator, Business Consultant and successful Entrepreneur

Northeast U.S. Advisory Board for Light of India Awards:

· Jaswant Lalwani, Corcoran Real Estate Group
· Sundaram Tagore, Gallery Owner and Documentary Filmmaker
· Aroon Shivdasani, Executive Director Indo-American Arts Council (Chairperson)
· Amrita Singh, Accessories and Fashion Designer
· Manjula Kumar, Smithsonian

The awards are presented by The Amrapali Group, along with other key partners including Sony Entertainment Television, Asia as the Exclusive Television Partner, Etihad Airways as the International Airline Partner, as the online partner, Comcast and Goa Tourism as Associate Sponsors.

Voting ends April 15. Click here to vote! 

1 Comment

  • PL Joshi
    PL Joshi
    15.04.11 08:03 PM
    This is regarding people nominated for award categories and also for the jury.

    Where are people from academics? Why is not there any category for
    Academic Leader just the way you have included corporate leader, business
    leader etc. They have included in jury mostly journalists and bollywood
    related people. Do the sponsorers think that only these people make intellectuals or light of India? Why education was not included as a separate category?. Do they think that academicians and researchers are useless people who have not done anything for India. I pity on their myopic thinking.

    I sent them emails ( to seek their clarifications but the emails bounced back.

    I request to please pass on this concern of mine to the sponsorers if you have their contact. They should not make execuses and reply back.

    Dr P L Joshi Bahrain

Leave a comment